Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for August 9th, 2010

I am so cold and frozen to my very heart.  Through every layer of my body the cold has crept.  It is impossible to sleep.  I shiver, I scratch, I try to wrap the bark around me and creep as close as possible to the campfire embers as i can.  I am barred from the native’s huts, I sleep with the dogs and the fleas.  I wait for the dawn and wonder if it will be my last… am I the last of our crew to survive?  Mr Brown, the First Mate has gone and who knows the fate of Mr Baxter. And yes, my husband has passed from this world to join Our Lord and Saviour.  It gladdens my heart to think that he is no longer suffering and I envision him at the Lord’s table, dressed in his finest captain’s accoutrements. He is healthy and happy,  enjoying the most sumptuous feast and celebration.  Friends congratulate him on his life’s work and Jesus smiles as he welcomes him into the heavenly kingdom.   Angels sing, harps ripple and my dear, sweet James is honoured and at peace.

Make me to understand the way of thy precepts:
So shall I talk of thy wondrous works.

My soul melteth for heaviness:
Strengthen me according under thy word
.  Psalm 119.


Read Full Post »